Gillian Florence

Who do you wish to share mindfulness with professionally?

This week's question asks:

Who do you wish to share mindfulness with professionally?

You might already be sharing mindfulness with a certain group of people professionally or you may be in the stage of figuring out how exactly you will do this. In any case, what is the niche of people you would like to facilitate? How old are they, what life experiences have they had, what do you want them to experience or learn?

Hello my specific group of people to share this with is children, I wish I had mindfulness as a child, these are tools that are life changing on every level. I imagine giving kids a good start in life living with mindfulness and compassion. I also want to specifically work with healthcare professionals. As a registered nurse, I know all to well the stress, and burnout that comes with taking care ill, and vulnerable patients as well as their families, this is a wonderful skill set for healthcare especially during and after this pandemic

• Thanks 1

Thank you so much for sharing @Fordstacie. These are such important niches to offer mindfulness to for all the reasons you mentioned. I, too, wish I had been introduced to mindfulness as a child. I remember when I first encountered mindfulness (in Jon Kabat-Zinn's book 'Wherever You Go, There You Are'), I was in my early 20s. It was as if a lightbulb went off - it just made SO much sense to me. So simple, and yet I wondered how I hadn't come across these teachings before. 

I’m building an online learning environment that will market mindfulness (and related) courses to these demographics via custom ads / targeted landing pages: activists, trauma survivors, seniors, artists and writers. Depending on which ‘gate’ they access the site through, students will be served mindfulness course content that’s tailored to their interest. 

• Like 1