NEXT LIVE WORKSHOP – Liam McClintock – The Neuroscience of Craving & Samadhi – Wed. May 18th (Link in Dashboard) ×
Ana Gouvea

Hello!

Hi,

My name is Ana Gouvea. I am a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in the state of Florida. I am also an author and I have a Podcast "Be Healthy! Be Mindful!" where I discuss topics on mental health and mindfulness. I was first introduced to mindfulness when a friend gave me Jon Kabat-Zinn's book "Full Catastrophe Living" 28 years ago. I meditated daily for 3 years and then little by little I stopped meditating. At the time I was living in Brazil (I am Brazilian) and then moved to USA to do a Ph.D. in linguistics. I was a professor and researcher at FIU in Miami for several years and then started questioning my career and my life goals. Because I wanted to help people I decided to quit academia and study to be a mental health counselor. In this process, I got interested in mindfulness again and wanted to incorporate mindfulness in my practice. Indeed, during my master all my assignments were about how to incorporate mindfulness in therapy/counseling. Recently, I got a MBSR certification and a mindfulness certification to treat children and teens. I use mindfulness with my clients on a daily basis and for the last 3 years I've been meditating daily. Because I want to deepen my own practice and also offer mindfulness programs to my clients, I decided to become a mindfulness coach. I am very excited to start this new journey!        

• Like 1

• Administrators

Hello Ana! It is wonderful to have you here - and thank you for the introduction. I love reading stories about peoples unique paths through different careers in order to find a deeper sense of purpose and meaning. It's also great to hear that you've been weaving mindfulness into your work with clients.

I had a similar introduction to mindfulness. It was through Jon Kabat-Zinn as well, but it was his book 'Wherever You Go, There You Are' that pulled me in.